Happy Thursday everyone!

Is it just me or is this week flying in?

Anyway, I mentioned in a previous post, ‘Mini Make Up Haul ♥’, that I had bought MicaBeauty mineral foundation while I was in Prague.

Although mineral makeup has been around quite a while, I’ve never gotten around to trying it, so I finally did and I thought I’d do just a short & sweet review of the MicaBeauty mineral foundation 🙂

 

To start off, I’m going to give you guys a small bit of background information if you haven’t heard of MicaBeauty.

MicaBeauty is a cosmetics company which began in 2001. MicaBeauty pride themselves on providing a line of 100% natural cosmetics, So, basically, it’s free of preservatives, chemical dyes, talc, oils & other fillers, so it’s suitable for all skin types.

The idea is that you have foundation, concealer & setting powder all in one.

MicaBeauty Mineral Foundation ReviewMicaBeauty Mineral Foundation Powder

To me, it’s basically the same as Bare Minerals, but I thought I’d give it a go to see what other mineral makeup brands are like! Plus, I got a great discount at the time 😛

On first impressions, there seems to be a lot of product so it would last quite a long time to use up, considering you only need to apply a small bit at a time. I also like that it’s not easy for the product to just simply fall out of the case, like some other powder products. So it would be easy enough to carry in your makeup bag, it won’t be likely to spill and ruin the rest of your makeup! (that’s the worst)

I’m not used to applying mineral foundation, so after looking up a couple of tutorials on YouTube, I decided to apply it with my Real Techniques foundation brush – excuse the look of my brush, I had just finished my makeup!

MicaBeauty Mineral Foundation Review

So, after getting some product on the brush, I then tapped any excess onto the lid, just so I wasn’t putting on too much at once. Then, starting in small areas I just buffed the foundation on to my face. I went over it a couple of times, just to make sure it was all covered & even. Then, for a small bit more coverage, I got a smaller brush and added more to any areas that I thought needed that extra bit – under the eyes & if there’s any nasty spots that need concealing!

MicaBeauty Mineral Foundation Review

It actually took me a lot longer than I thought it would, but I’m hoping that’s just because it was my first time using mineral makeup, I’m sure it’ll be faster and easier to apply the more I get used to it. I also used some of my Mac Pro Long Wear concealer under my eyes. I just thought it didn’t conceal under my eyes as much as I would of liked – but under my eyes needs the most concealing in my case.

The foundation itself felt lovely on. It’s light wear and leaves your skin feeling silky smooth. MicaBeauty Mineral Foundation Review

The lasting power was quite good, although I must say the day I did try it I wasn’t too busy so I’m going to give it another go tomorrow morning before a full day at work and see how it lasts!

Overall, I do like it so far. One downfall is that it the application feels like a lot more effort than I’m used to. Again, hopefully that will get better in time.

MicaBeauty Mineral Foundation Review MicaBeauty Mineral Foundation Review

Hope you enjoyed 🙂

Amie x

